Dilip Kumar to be feted with ‘Phalke Ratna’


MUMBAI: Veteran actor Dilip Kumar will be honoured with the Phalke Ratna Award at the 138th birth anniversary celebrations of Dadasaheb Phalke – the father of Indian cinema.

The function will be held at the Bhaidas Auditorium in Mumbai on 30 April 2007. Fifty five other senior members of the film fraternity will also be honoured by the Dadasaheb Phalke Academy on the occasion.

Legendary artistes like Jeetendra, Shashikala, Aroona Irani, Beena Rai, Kum Kum, Shushila Rani Patel, director Lekh Tandon, producer Rajkumar Barjatya and Kamal Kumar Barjatya are among the other recipients of the award. Many technicians, distributors and exhibitors will also be honoured.
The Academy, affiliated with 36 cine associations from all over the country, is headed by Santosh Singh Jain and Govind Swarup who are the chairmen, while Pahlaj Nihalani, Sanjay Patel, Ram Gopal Gupta, Sangram Shirke and Neena Jalan are amongst the trustees of the Academy.